In Her Easter Bonnet


My first client was at one time a very fashionable woman.  She had clothing that would make most women very jealous.  Designer dresses and suits with matching shoes, handbags and  most importantly a hat.  Most of these beautiful clothes had not been in style for at least 30 years.

When it came time to sort through her clothes and decide what she could keep, it was a very traumatic experience for her.  My client, I’ll call her “Ms Daisy”, wanted to keep everything.  Even though she was not able to wear any of the outfits. 

After much discussion and a few tears “Ms Daisy” reluctantly agreed that to donate the clothes, shoes, and handbags.  However, “Ms Daisy” said that she wanted the hats!  Most of them had been beautiful at one time, but their beauty was long gone.  Again after much discussion and a great deal of compromise on both “Ms Daisy” and me. So we packed up one small box of hats that moved with ” Ms Daisy”.
“Ms Daisy” really loved her hats, every time I visited with her she had one of her hats on.  It didn’t matter how bad it might have looked, it made her feel dressed up!  She never stopped admiring hats. One of my last visits with her, I took her to an appointment, and she was all dressed up with her mink pill box hat. 

On our way to her appointment we had a conversation about the hat the Aretha Franklin wore at the 2009 Inauguration.  She loved that hat!  

I believe wearing her hats made her feel physically better than she actually felt.  So compromising a bit and taking a few of her favorite hats made her happy. Ms Daisy felt more in control of her life even though she new she really was not. 

“Ms Daisy”, if she could, would strutting her stuff wearing her best Easter Bonnet!

1 comment so far

  1. judithhb on

    Hi. I found your blog when the internet either (or whatever that friend is called) showed me a possible link to my blog on I’m English so I drink tea – http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/.
    Love your blog on tea but couldn’t leave you a comment. I also do really love this blog.
    I had an elderly friend, to whom I acted as companion at various times. She didn’t have hats but she had the most remarkable set of clothes for sailing that I have ever seen. Some went back to when she and her husband first met in the mid 1920s.
    My ‘Ms Phyllis’ could strut her stuff until she died at the age of 94 – but no longer on a sailing vessel unfortunately.


Comments are closed.

