Tea Calms The Soul!


Nana's teapot

Nana's Teapot

As a child when I was sick, upset, or generally out of sorts; my Irish Nana would brew a fresh pot of tea.  Then she would fix me a special cup, load with sugar and milk.  Whatever was wrong was quickly fixed and I always felt much better with my milky, sweet, Irish Tea!

As I grew older, the tea had much less sugar and milk, but Nana’s special tea was the best tea I ever had.  I still have Nana’s tea pot and on special occasions I make a pot of tea, but it is not the same!   Problems and solutions are not resolved as quickly these days, but a refreshing cup of tea always calms the soul and things do not seem so bad while sipping a nice cup of tea.

I knew Nana used a tea pot, but I really wasn’t too sure what made her tea so special.  When I looked on the Web, I found 189,000 links on how: To Make The Perfect Pot of Irish Tea.  Here is one I found on LollySmith.com.  Not sure if it will be like my Nana’s tea but I will give it a try.  Here is what they say to do:

  • Fill a kettle with freshly drawn water; reheating water already in the kettle will affect the taste.
  • Heat an earthenware or china tea pot. Put hot water in the pot for a few minutes this is called warming the pot.
  • Use 1 teaspoonful of tea per person plus 1 for the pot.
  • Take the pot to the kettle and pour freshly boiling water over the leaves.
  • Leave tea pot steep for a few minutes and stir, after another 2 minutes tea is ready to pour, but no more than 5 minutes after adding boiling water.

If you don’t have loose tea, you can use tea bags in place of loose tea; it is your choice.

Now to really move you from FRAZZLED TO DAZZLED, my tag line, I found a different variation of the tea above; by replacing milk and add Bailey’s® Irish Cream liquor!   I really feel that my Nana would have probably enjoyed this version for a special occassion.   

I tried making a pot of tea with the recipe above, without the Bailey’s® Irish Cream liquor, and it was good but not quite like Nana’s.  Why?  It’s hard to say but it is probably because I made it and not Nana!  She was the magic ingrediant that made the tea so special and it calmed my soul.

So if you are uptight and need to have a little calming of your soul brew yourself a cup of tea and just relax and enjoy!

2 comments so far

  1. Erin on

    Love this. Brings back memories of my English Grandmother and her tea. Thanks, Claire!

    • wittzend on

      Thanks Erin for taking the time to read this and make a comment. Claire


Comments are closed.

